2018 Student Election Candidates Announced

By William Ton | @williamhton

Image source: RUSU website

Candidates for the upcoming 2018 RMIT student elections have been announced with three teams vying for elected positions in next year’s student council.

Belong, Connect, and Left Voice will be campaigning to fill the positions on the RMIT University Student Union (RUSU) council.

Belong and Connect are the main players in the upcoming election, both competing for the majority of elected positions on the council.

Left Voice will only campaign for the queer officers position, the general representatives, and NUS delegates positions.

A number of elected positions have already been announced after other teams failed to nominate a candidate for the position.

Suraj Loomba, Sai Arun Kiran Karthik Sunkara and Mona Makhija from Belong were elected unopposed as International Officer, Postgraduate Officer and City Representative, respectively

Allison Toby was elected unopposed as Indigenous Officer, running on a Connect ticket.

The candidates running under each ticket are:


Sandra Hernandez Salazar, general secretary

Ameet Kumar, education

Haroon Esmail, welfare

Suraj Loomba, international

Sai Arun Kiran Karthik Sunkara, postgraduate

Srishti Deva, women

Jessica Dargan, activities

Anand Tripathy, sustainability

Kapil Khanna, clubs and societies

Muhammad Khan, vocational education

Anshul Srivastava, Brunswick coordinator

Meher Dang, Brunswick representative

Mohammad Waqar Khan, Bundoora coordinator

Lit Feng Loh, Bundoora East representative

Tengyi Cai, Bundoora West representative

Pawan Raturi, City coordinator

Mona Makhija, City representative

Lekhika Jain, Rama El-Mahmoud & Emily Cork, Catalyst editors



Aditya Sharma, general secretary

Lily Xia, education

Jarred Armitage, welfare

Ma Beatrice Co, women

Adam See Kee & Caitlin Frost, queer

Allison Toby, Indigenous

Sheldon Gait, activities

Eamonn Pinnuck, sustainability

Daniel Hoogstra, clubs and societies

Hafiuzllah Jan, vocational education

Mia Beauchamp, Brunswick coordinator

Victoria Came, Brunswick representative

Caitlin Agra, Bundoora coordinator

Mustafa Jahani, Bundoora East representative

Chantelle Hopkins, Bundoora West representative

Adam Flemming, City coordinator

Siri Smith, Rachael O’Brien & Abigail Trewartha, Catalyst editors


Left Voice

Roz Ward & Natalie Acreman, queer



Nathan Necovski, Catalyst editor


General representatives (five positions):

Belong: Sadaf Hadi, Shubham Sharma, Umer Tahir, Mirza Baig, Naomi Kelsey, Prashanth Kumar.

Connect: Ella Gvildys, Lily Hawkins, Abena Dove, Will Gate, Alexander Jarvis, Liyuan Chen.

Left Voice: Liam Parry, Chris Giddings


NUS Delegates (seven positions):

Belong: Sadaf Hadi, Pawan Raturi, Shubham Sharma, Suraj Loomba, Anshul Srivastava, Mona Makhija.

Connect: Aditya Sharma, Lily Xia, Jarred Armitage, Eamonn Pinnuck, Daniel Hoogstra, Sheldon Gait.

Left Voice: Natalie Acreman, Liam Parry, Madaleine Hah, Jeremy Gibson, Athulya Jancy Benny, Chris Giddings, Nahui Jimenez Ludekens.

The election voting period opens on 3 September and will run until 7 September.


The election notice can be found on the RUSU website.

Catalyst has been the student publication of RMIT University since 1944. We may be older than your parents but we’re still going strong!

Sign up for Catalyst Magazine

Get the latest on what's happening
* = required field